Writer’s Bootcamp, Bonus Day

Titanic_breaks_in_half

Sinking Ship: You realize the boat is sinking, but that’s not the worst thing that could happen. The worst thing happened last night.

We stood there at the bow of the ship, our hands clasped around the railing as the boat careened to the left, the port side slowly sinking under water.  We were surrounded by miles and miles of quiet, dark emptiness.  The emergency rafts had already been deployed and were starting to float away from the boat with only a handful of people in each of them.

“We’re doomed,” the guy next to me said, his voice quiet with resignation. “We’ll all drown before the rescue boats ever find us.  This has got to be the worst thing to ever happen to any of us.”

I shrugged my shoulders, my feet already started to slip out from underneath me.

“It could be worse,” I replied.

“How so?”

“Last night I finished day fourteen of a two-week writer’s bootcamp, only to learn there was still one more day to do.”

“Oh, wow.  You’re right.  That is way worse.”

I would’ve replied to the man, but at that point that ship tipped completely onto its side.  I hung from the railing for a moment before plunging into the icy water below me.

Leave a comment